Lush with addicting progressions, an all around edgy yet soulful vocal style with persistent pop undertones, Animal Sun’s sonic appeal boasts the aesthetic of indie rock anthems. Formed in 2015 and lead by two brothers; primary vocalist/songwriter, Steven Blake and drummer, Will Alton originally cut their teeth playing in small clubs up and down the East Coast. Deciding to name the band Animal Sun was in dedication to their late friend and musical compadre James Sun, who’s life was tragically cut short in 2011. 

By 2017, Animal Sun began appearing all over local radio and opening for noteworthy acts such as The Frights, The Orphan The Poet, Late Night Episode, and Alvarez Kings throughout the region. Flash-forward to late 2018 and the boys had moved to Los Angeles, California where they would meet current keyboardist/percussionist Tyler DeCastro and bass player Adam Gardner. Together, they to began production with Aaron “Zeus” Zepeda and Grammy award-winning engineer Robert Margouleff.

Their lead single "Girl in Blue" was released on June 20th, 2019, and very quickly made its way onto renowned alternative stations such as idobi radio and even snagging the number 5 spot on KROQ "Locals Only" with host Kat Corbett. Picking up momentum very quickly, the band released their debut EP Beginnings and a music video for the single “Girl in Blue” at the end of summer 2019. In April 2020, the single has reached over 108k+ Spotify streams. The band was also featured on the first round of the official Grammy Ballot by The Recording Academy for “Girl in Blue.” 

Animal Sun has been on the rise in Los Angeles by playing at The Peppermint Club, The Viper Room, The Mint and the iconic Troubadour. Steven Blake has also performed the National Anthem at the LA Kings vs. Washington Capitals in December at the Staples Center.

Animal Sun released their brand-new single, "Without You" on April 26, 2020 for their fans. In late 2020, the band will be announcing up-coming tour dates. 

  • Spotify
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • TikTok
  • iTunes

© 2020 Animal Sun Music